Spring is in the air – I hope!

Well, it’s been a long time since I wrote a blog, October 2014 to be precise. So much has happened in my life and I’m sure it has in yours. A quick review…

At the end of October I went to Sarasota with my dragonboat team, Knot-A-Breast, to participate in the International Breast Cancer Paddling Commission (IBCPC) Participatory Dragon Boat Festival. There were over 100 teams from around the world at the event. And a great time was had by all. We were very happy when our team won the event racing a time of 2.25.91 mins. and our other team won their division coming in at  2.56.21 mins. However,  it wasn’t the winning that counted, it was being amongst over 3000 other breast cancer survivors that was the main reason for the event. It did my heart good to see all the women and their friends and families enjoying life – and the Florida sunshine!

Two friends and I stayed in Florida and went to Fort Myers Beach for a week – boy did we have a great time there. We went on one of those air boats in the everglades and saw quite a few gators! Sat on the beach, went for walks, and generally relaxed. After the excitement of the event it was great to just wind down – and we didn’t even paddle, we just went to support and enjoy.

Before I knew it Christmas was upon me, it’s always special with friends and family. New Years’ Eve was spent dancing and socializing – my speciality – LOL! January saw John and I over in England for his Mums 92nd birthday celebration. She’s an amazing woman, she’s been a breast cancer survivor for 49 years, my inspiration for sure.

Obviously, this blog is more personal than usual but I do have some important information to share about a programme at MacMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. I’m doing a separate blog to give you the information. Please check it out.

About Janac Mastectomy Wear For Fighters & Survivors

President of Janac Mastectomy Wear - est.2003 2x breast cancer survivor (1995 & 2009) decided to design a breast prosthesis that is comfortable and affordable. Also, designs sports tops that can accommodate any breast prosthesis. www.janacmastectomywear.com
This entry was posted in Bras, Breast Cancer, Breast prosthesis, Events, Fundraising and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

