Petitioning the Ministry of Health

I recently sent out a newsletter asking for help with a petition, if you follow my blog and also get a newsletter I apologize for doing it twice, but it is sssooooooo important. Here it is….

It’s a new year and already I’m asking a favour of you. I have been very frustrated over the years with the issue of ADP not covering the Been-A-Boob and I know, if you live in Ontario, you have the same issue. In fact, it’s not just the B-A-B that they won’t cover, it’s ANY breast prosthesis that isn’t made of silicone. 

Even if you don’t live in Ontario you can sign the petition in support of the breast cancer survivors in Ontario.

 
Anyway, I contacted my MPP Jane McKenna and she is on board with helping us to “encourage” the Ministry of Health to change the policy that ADP adheres to.
 
To help with the situation I have started a petition so the Minister of Health can see how many of us want to make our own a decisions when it comes to which prosthesis we want to wear, and we shouldn’t be penalized by not getting the grant to help cover the cost. 
 
The money has been allocated to help us with the expense of going through breast cancer and we should ALL have access to it.
 
Unfortunately, the way petitions work is that the Government won’t accept any photocopies or e-mailed signatures. They also won’t accept sheets of signatures without the details of the petition at the top.  Therefore, the favour I have to ask you is if you would print copies of the petition get as many signatures as possible and mail it to me, don’t forget to ask all your friends to sign in support of you and all Ontario breast cancer survivors, the more “original” signatures we can get the better.
If you don’t have a printer and would like me to mail you copies, please let me know how many copies you would like.
Mail the petition to:
1396 Royal Drive, Burlington, ON L7P 2G9
 
The Canadian Cancer Society produces an annual report, included is the estimated number of breast cancer diagnoses. In 2013 the number was 9,300. The mortality rate is going down, thankfully. That means there are more survivors out there, many of which are having to buy a breast prosthesis.
 
If the ADP policy can be changed to include ANY prosthesis then thousands of woman can be helped.
All they need to do is eliminate the word “silicone” from the policy.
 
I hope you will take the time to help with this cause, I realize it will cost you to print the petition and then send it to me, but I hope you feel it will be worth it.
 
I am going to put this on my blog and Facebook page too. The more people I can reach to get involved, the better.
Thanks for your time.
Janet
 
About Janac Mastectomy Wear For Fighters & Survivors

President of Janac Mastectomy Wear - est.2003 2x breast cancer survivor (1995 & 2009) decided to design a breast prosthesis that is comfortable and affordable. Also, designs sports tops that can accommodate any breast prosthesis. www.janacmastectomywear.com
This entry was posted in Bras, Breast Cancer, Breast prosthesis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

