Being thankful

Last night was the last on water paddle practice for my Knot-A-Breast dragonboat team and what a wonderful evening it was. As we watched the sun go down on the calm water, my thoughts turned to two of my teammates who have been diagnosed with breast cancer for the second time, and also to the husband of another who is battling cancer of different kind. 

Why am I thankful? These people would have been going through these health issues regardless as to whether they were connected to our team or not. But I am thankful that they are part of our team, because they have the love and support of over 40 friends. They know they can turn to any one of us for help, they also know that we are thinking of them and sending positive thoughts their way. And I’m sure they are thankful for their decision to join the team, like I am.

After the practice we stayed at Macassa Bay Yacht Club and enjoyed Thai food, and lots – and I mean LOTS of laughs. Our paddling season may be over but we have another year of great memories – and that is what life is all about.

So we should all live life to the fullest and be thankful for it.

About Janac Mastectomy Wear For Fighters & Survivors

President of Janac Mastectomy Wear - est.2003 2x breast cancer survivor (1995 & 2009) decided to design a breast prosthesis that is comfortable and affordable. Also, designs sports tops that can accommodate any breast prosthesis. www.janacmastectomywear.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Being thankful

  1. Judy-Anne says:

    Well said!!! And I too am glad to be part of that wonderful team – even though this has been a difficult year for me and I haven’t been able to paddle – the team has been soooo supportive – I can’t wait until I am back to “normal” and back paddling with these wonderful ladies – I get strength, energy and wisdom from them!!

  2. Shari says:

    I couldn’t have said that better Janet. It was nice to see 2 boats go out as the last practise came to an end. You are all such amazing people and we are all so lucky to have each other to lean on when leaning is needed. (((hugs)))

  3. Susan Winlaw says:

    How wonderful for you to have had last evening without rain so you could enjoy the time and be in that joy. It is indeed great to be able to share any kind of common ailment so you can boost each other up. It’s important to have someone who has gone through it or is going through it and KNOWS what you are feeling. Kudos to the whole group Janet. I wish you many more years of paddling in the dragon boat events. S>

  4. How wonderful to read this ! Anyone with you on their side will be very thankful !
    Psoitive energy to you all xo

  5. Brenda says:

    Thanks for sharing this with me, I am thankful to have you in my life. This has been a difficult year for me and through experiences you share I know tomorrow will be better. Hugs B

Leave a Reply

